About the Nerd + “On Leaving Capitol Hill”

About the nerd
So here I am again, a “beginner-blogger”, this time writing about someone far more experienced and skilled, namely about an American freelance technical writer named Pam. I totally admire the expertise and wittiness that I have so far noticed in her posts and I guess that I can learn a lot from reading them.
Pam is a truly remarkable person with some interesting hobbies like playing the ukulele or cooking fish (but only on Wednesdays). But above all else, she is nothing if not an avid traveler always accompanied by her Austrian husband.

What is she focusing on?
Her blog mostly features posts concerning topics like cuisine, arts, Austria and Seattle with some of their cultural features; but there is also a category with political issues as Pam tends to be quite open about certain political views.


“On Leaving Capitol Hill”

I have just read one of her posts that cought my eye the moment I read the tytle. It is a piece with a nostalgic tone in which Pam expreses her attachment to Capitol Hill, a place that she used to call her home before she moved to West Seattle.
However, similar to Monagan’s experience in Ireland, things have changed on Capitol Hill as well. She had to watch how the homely and idilic place that she has had grown used to suddenly turned into an unfriendly and expensive neighborhood in which she couldn’t afford to stay.
I myself am also a person who doesn’t like when things change too suddenly . When I settle down somewhere or get attached to sth it is difficult for me to give all this up and start all over again. I do like new challenges and experiences but only if there is this special place callled “home” where I can always return.

 

Leave a comment